Today the Wound Won

I opted for the Pain Pump to reduce the oral medication and to Quote un Quote Give me My Life Back~! I am still in the healing time period and I continue to have some serious ups and downs.  This morning I woke up unable to move my right arm and the hand was back in a ball.  I have worked hard for months to change that! Little goals that is what helps the pain/time go.  By this evening I had my hand open but still very swollen –

“Ups, and Downs”

I have mentioned in my blog about my arm before.  It Has been trouble since day one.  My right leg has been also and today it continues to have no feeling accept the intense imagined rod of fire I feel burning down the middle.   My right foot is more swollen today than yesterday and the pitting edema is worse.  I try to keep my leg up as much as possible.  This prognosis is something so unfathomable that sometimes it is easier to say I feel fabulous and stay in bed than try for the truth, even to those closest to you.

My back wound incision is well ugly and not healing. It took from Aug 2007-Nov-1 to diagnosis my Syringomyelia and it goes C1-Brain to -S1 – Conus. It is to small to shunt and is rubbing against the sympathetic nerve system that is why Emory told me after 45 days in the hospital to go home in a wheelchair and hospital bed and wait for it to grow large or go away so they could do something. The pain has not stopped. My last MRI said SI Joint dysfunction Degenerative Disc Disease Fluid in my spine reveal annular tears and bulging discs from L1-S1 but a stable syrinx – How do you handle that.  I am trying with Faith – Faith is the only Rock strong enough to lean on.

Acquired

The second major form of syringomyelia occurs as a complication of traumameningitishemorrhage, a tumor, or arachnoiditis. Here, the syrinx or cyst develops in a segment of the spinal cord damaged by one of these conditions. The syrinx then starts to expand. This is sometimes referred to as noncommunicating syringomyelia. Symptoms may appear months or even years after the initial injury, starting with pain, weakness, and sensory impairment originating at the site of trauma.

The primary symptom of post-traumatic syringomyelia (often referred to using the abbreviation of PTS)[3] is pain, which may spread upward from the site of injury. Symptoms, such as pain, numbness, weakness, and disruption in temperature sensation, may be limited to one side of the body. Syringomyelia can also adversely affect sweating, sexual function, and, later, bladder and bowel control. A typical cause of PTS would be a car accident or similar trauma involving a whip-lash injury.

What can make PTS difficult to diagnose is the fact that symptoms can often first appear long after the actual cause of the syrinx occurred, e.g. a car accident occurring and then the patient first experiencing PTS symptoms such as pain, loss of sensation, reduced ability on the skin to feel varying degrees of hot and cold, a number of months after car accident.

Symptoms

Syringomyelia causes a wide variety of neuropathic symptoms due to damage of the spinal cord. Patients may experience severe chronic pain, abnormal sensations and loss of sensation particularly in the hands. Some patients experienceparalysis or paresis temporarily or permanently. A syrinx may also cause disruptions in the parasympathetic and sympathetic nervous systems, leading to abnormal body temperature or sweating, bowel control issues, or other problems. If the syrinx is higher up in the spinal cord or affecting the brainstem as in syringobulbia, vocal cord paralysis, ipsilateral tongue wasting, trigeminal nerve sensory loss, and other signs may occur.[4] Rarely, bladder stones can occur in the onset of weakness in the lower extremities.[5] Classically, syringomyelia spares the dorsal column/medial lemniscus of the spinal cord, leaving pressure, vibration, touch and proprioception intact in the upper extremities. Neuropathic arthropathy, also known as a Charcot joint, can occur, particularly in the shoulders, in patients with syringomyelia. The loss of sensory fibers to the joint is theorized to lead to damage of the joint over time.[6]

Come Enjoy Leave a reply No name needed - You get to tell me who you are!

